Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Specific Gauge Topics > N Gauge

N Gauge N Gauge model railway topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-02-2018, 06:09 PM   #1
jak48
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 123
jak48 is on a distinguished road
Default Hi everyone

Hi All,
After much messing about moving furniture in my room,building a new
board,laying track,getting it running (on dc) just to check it,got trains
running ok.....decided i didn't like it.So,recently started again and now
have just put in last of the droppers and will do the bus on Sunday as i'm
going to Model Rail Scotland tomorrow.As i said to you all when i started
with this dcc shenanigan i would be firing questions at you incessantly.
This part is aimed mainly at Tinker as it was on his advice that i purchased
a PSX-1 from DCC Specialties.,so here goes Tinker, As my layout is now
only 8 feet x 3 feet is using this overkill? If not,i take it i just take two wires
to the input of the psx-1 from my powercab then two wires from the output of the psx-1 to the track...job done...correct?

This part for all you guys..i have a steam loco which is running a bit poorly
at present.It runs fine tender first but loco first is a bit sticky...any ideas.
All comments greatfully received.
Jack
jak48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2018, 06:10 PM   #2
platelayer
Senior Member
 
platelayer's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kidderminster Worcestershire
Posts: 1,043
platelayer is on a distinguished road
Default

Looking forward to seeing your layout.
__________________
The Potts line preservation society.

Last edited by platelayer; 23-02-2018 at 06:12 PM.
platelayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2018, 10:01 AM   #3
Mountain Goat
Unique Member.
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,477
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Welcome. What gauge and make/model is the loco you have difficulties with? Oh. Just seen. This is the N gauge bit. Maybe a few with N gauge experience can offer advice. I've only once tried N myself. I tend to prefer a larger scale though I admit that space is usually quite a challenge!

Last edited by Mountain Goat; 24-02-2018 at 10:04 AM.
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2018, 10:14 AM   #4
Tinker
Motive Power Supervisor
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: N W Norfolk
Posts: 2,361
Tinker is on a distinguished road
Default

The PX-1 has a lower trigger point than the NCE item, so its fine you do need something or a prolonged un-noticed short circuit will destroy the Handset, you have it wired correctly.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2018, 08:18 PM   #5
jak48
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 123
jak48 is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi,
Layout still in very early stages.Once more presentable i will try and post pics.
Cheers,Jack
jak48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2018, 08:21 PM   #6
jak48
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 123
jak48 is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi,
Thanks for your reply,loco is Farish n gauge Royal Scot.
Cheers,Jack
jak48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2018, 08:32 PM   #7
Steve M
Carcharodon carcharias
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 4,145
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Usual advice: poor running is usually all to do with dirty track, wheels and pickups. Clean all those properly with IPA and retest.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2018, 08:44 PM   #8
jak48
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 123
jak48 is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi again Tinker.Thanks for your reply.I have not yet installed the unit i just needed your
valuable advice on the subject.You see when i decided to go dcc i ordered a dcc power
bus starter kit from Railway Scenics,this included bus termination filter kits (2) then you
advised me of these units on the link you supplied and i decided to purchase one.So to
date after dismantling my board and starting over i am now at the point stated in the start of this post so i take it my understanding of installing and connecting the wiring
is ok.
Cheers,Jack
jak48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2018, 08:59 PM   #9
Steve M
Carcharodon carcharias
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 4,145
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Another tip, this is the ‘bible’ for railway electrics.

http://www.brian-lambert.co.uk
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.