Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-02-2018, 10:38 AM   #11
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,414
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

The Hornby Elite as supplied new has a 4.0Amp power supply provided.
The Hornby eLink as new has a 1.0Amp power supply provided, but can be upgraded to use the Elite's 4.0Amp PSU.
The Hornby Select as new comes with a 1.0Amp power supply, but again can be upgraded by plugging in the 4.0Amp PSU.
Note: When you 'upgrade to the 4.0Amp PSU the 1.0Amp PSU is no longer used.
The 4.0Amp Hornby Power Supply is available separately as their item number P3000.

WARNING to none Hornby users... DO NOT rush out and just replace the DCC systems supplied power supply with a higher current rating one. Many systems are not designed to work at any current above what the manufacturer supplies new. Only replace it if the manufacturer clearly states it can be up rated!
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 10:48 AM   #12
collectors
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: West Norfolk
Posts: 80
collectors is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yelrow View Post
Gosh , plenty to do. You are going to need deep pockets .Many of us, have Elites, but have not tried with 0 gauge. good luck with your planning. john
Hi John, the track side & construction wont be to bad on cost, its the price of the trains. So i will start with a new goods train & secondhand wagons to help keep the cost down. But as someone else said, an 00 Gauge will look a bit small on a shelf 7' in the air & would need two tracks on a stepped layout, so 0 Gauge it is.

PS John: How do you get on with your Hornby controls??

PPs: Apologies moderator .


Mod edit. Expletive deleted.

Last edited by Rog (RJ); 20-02-2018 at 11:34 AM.
collectors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 11:07 AM   #13
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,075
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Very content with the Elite. Started, with Elink, and PC. Got chance of used Elite, and never looked back. Also use 2 Selects, as Walkabouts. Moved recently into MTH, locos, which are DCS, and am awaiting a DCS controller, which works fine with Elite. There are mixed views on this and other forums, about the Elite, but i know of nobody who has changed to another system, through dissatisfaction, (no doubt, there may well now, be a list). The Elite, is very easy to understand, and Programs, also, on the main track, which for MTH, is very necessary, as prog track supply, not man enough. There are, i am sure many who prefer what they have, but Hornby have a very good support back up, if/when needed, (again, personal )view. john
yelrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 12:32 PM   #14
RAFHAAA96
Trying-hard-to-re Member
 
RAFHAAA96's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Moni, Limassol, Cyprus
Posts: 362
RAFHAAA96 is on a distinguished road
Default

I’m more than happy with Hornby DCC products and their customer support.
rob
__________________
Halton Brat, running Hornby 00 via Elite, Select Walkabout and eLink DCC using Railmaster Pro and occasionally Rocrail, β-tester. http://myweb.cytanet.com.cy/honnor/
RAFHAAA96 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 01:04 PM   #15
Cudworth
Senior Member
 
Cudworth's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 759
Cudworth is on a distinguished road
Default

Lima made an O gauge range. To get an idea of likely prices second hand look on ebay

http://www.ebay.co.uk/bhp/lima-o-gauge

You don't need a DCC system for this project.

A second hand H&M duette or Clipper is all you need.
Cudworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 02:36 PM   #16
cadman
Senior Member
 
cadman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Leighton Buzzard
Posts: 499
cadman is on a distinguished road
Default

@Cudworth.........DCC would be preferable as he intends on having sound fitted locos.......HB
cadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 03:03 PM   #17
collectors
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: West Norfolk
Posts: 80
collectors is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yelrow View Post
Very content with the Elite. Started, with Elink, and PC. Got chance of used Elite, and never looked back. Also use 2 Selects, as Walkabouts. Moved recently into MTH, locos, which are DCS, and am awaiting a DCS controller, which works fine with Elite. There are mixed views on this and other forums, about the Elite, but i know of nobody who has changed to another system, through dissatisfaction, (no doubt, there may well now, be a list). The Elite, is very easy to understand, and Programs, also, on the main track, which for MTH, is very necessary, as prog track supply, not man enough. There are, i am sure many who prefer what they have, but Hornby have a very good support back up, if/when needed, (again, personal )view. john
Thanks for the feedback, i will still keep this one in mind as i have used the evaluation version & found it nice to use.
collectors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 03:07 PM   #18
collectors
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: West Norfolk
Posts: 80
collectors is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadman View Post
@Cudworth.........DCC would be preferable as he intends on having sound fitted locos.......HB
And dont forget the lights. lol. I think it maybe a bit more future proof for me. But i do understand the logic of just running DC & keeping some costs down.
collectors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 03:07 PM   #19
Cudworth
Senior Member
 
Cudworth's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 759
Cudworth is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadman View Post
@Cudworth.........DCC would be preferable as he intends on having sound fitted locos.......HB
You can have sound on a DC loco.
Cudworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 03:09 PM   #20
collectors
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: West Norfolk
Posts: 80
collectors is on a distinguished road
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAFHAAA96 View Post
Iím more than happy with Hornby DCC products and their customer support.
rob
Thanks for the input.
collectors is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.