Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Track Layout & Design

Track Layout & Design Help with designing your track work


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2013, 09:06 PM   #11
Aliktren
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 38
Aliktren is on a distinguished road
Default

do'oh, thanks, in which case this is a perfect bit of software!!!
Aliktren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 03:01 PM   #12
Mixy
Author of SCARM
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 138
Mixy is on a distinguished road
Default SCARM v. 0.9.22 released

There is an issue with SCARM 0.9.21 that may affect Copy/Paste functionality on certain PCs. Please upgrade to SCARM 0.9.22, which was released today to fix the problem. The new version also enables offline documentation and Parts List to be displayed on Windows 8 PCs. See more about this bugfix update in the following blog post: SCARM v. 0.9.22 Released.

I am sorry if these bugs caused any problems and inconvenience in your work with SCARM. If you see another problems, please report them here or in SCARM Blog and I will try to fix them ASAP.

Mixy
Mixy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 06:54 PM   #13
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,402
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the update Mixy. Looking forward to new developments.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2013, 01:32 PM   #14
wittershamroad
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
Default

I have been using SCARM, and I find it quite useful in being able to try ideas from trackplans books without assembling physical track.

An idea I think you might be interested in, is "Random Route" which generates train layouts automatically. This program only works for the old Microsoft Train Simulator, but I think you could study the method used and apply it to SCARM. What it does, is assemble a set of pre-defined "tiles", which have various features such as a stations, bridges and tunnels. It then assembles them to make a layout.

If you go to the following web page you will see what is meant by a series of example "tiles" on the left hand side of the screen.

http://www.ndtrains.com/
  Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2013, 01:09 PM   #15
Mixy
Author of SCARM
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 138
Mixy is on a distinguished road
Default

OK, I will check the link

I am not sure how this can be implemented in SCARM, but when I finish the modular features, they (the modules) may be like the "tiles" and may be placed on some random basis to form random modular routes.

Mixy
Mixy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2013, 01:29 PM   #16
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 7,825
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Hi Mixy
Any thoughts about producing a Mac compatible version of SCARM?
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2013, 02:03 PM   #17
Mixy
Author of SCARM
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 138
Mixy is on a distinguished road
Default

Native version of SCARM for Mac may appear in the future, but even now there are 3 options for SCARM to be used on Mac platform:

1. BootCamp - it comes with every Mac and allows installing of Windows on it (requires license for Windows).
2. Parallels - it is a virtual machine allowing running of Windows-based apps (requires licenses too).
3. WINE - it is a free Windows emulator and there are users, reported that it is able to be installed on Mac and to run SCARM on it. More about this option is described in the blog here: Running SCARM on Apple Mac. It is still in test phase, but for now, the 2D editor seems to work fine on Mac

Mixy
Mixy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2013, 02:31 PM   #18
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 7,825
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Thanks Mixy,
I can wait if you think a full Mac compatible version will be available sometime.
I do have Parallels running Windows 7 on my Mac but would rather use a dedicated Mac version if you ever decide to make one.
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 08:07 PM   #19
stevenfitch
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Blyth, Northumberland
Posts: 269
stevenfitch is on a distinguished road
Default

I have used this software well for small to medium layouts and found it very good, i especially like the 3D view.

however for larger layouts i purchased anyrail - www.anyrail.com
stevenfitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 07:53 AM   #20
Mixy
Author of SCARM
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 138
Mixy is on a distinguished road
Default

Last week, I posted an article in SCARM Blog about Useful Stuff In Various SCARM Libraries, like platforms, level crossings, signals and more.

If you use these objects in SCARM and they do not appear on the drawing plot, you need to check the Accessories view setting. Open "Tools" > "Settings" > "2D View" > "Tracks" and place a check mark on Accessories field if there is no one.

Thanks to RogerB for the note

Mixy
Mixy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.