Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2018, 11:07 AM   #1
rogerdee490th
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
rogerdee490th is on a distinguished road
Default Zimo 6 pin chips

Hi I don't know if it's just my luck but so far I have bought 2 6pin Zimo decoders put them in my locos and they don't seem to work as they should. They respond slowly then seem to race away in fits and stats.I put a bachman decoder in and it works perfectly.
Any one else have these problems.
rogerdee490th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 11:54 AM   #2
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator ;-)
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,548
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

I can't really offer any advice other than to try a decoder reset.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 12:04 PM   #3
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,887
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

If a reset doesn’t help have a look at changing CV150 as this can sometimes be a cause of jerky running. Also check that track and wheels etc are clean.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 08:35 PM   #4
RAFHAAA96
Trying-hard-to-re Member
 
RAFHAAA96's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Moni, Limassol, Cyprus
Posts: 332
RAFHAAA96 is on a distinguished road
Default

There have heen reports that some decoders have been ‘improved’ and now if the power is interrupted they revert to speed zero followed by a restart to set speed at whatever accel rate you have set, rather than just carry on at the set speed once the power glitch is restored.
__________________
Halton Brat, running Hornby 00 via Elite, Select Walkabout and eLink DCC using Railmaster Pro and occasionally Rocrail, β-tester. http://myweb.cytanet.com.cy/honnor/
RAFHAAA96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2018, 06:32 PM   #5
terryj
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 92
terryj is on a distinguished road
Default

i think that was the hattons own brand based on another supplier and re branded
terryj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2018, 10:46 PM   #6
Paul-H
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 52
Paul-H is on a distinguished road
Default

Got quite a few and not had any issues with them, although they do use a very thin wire for the connector which can have issues with some decoder sockets as they don't make a good connection, I find putting a kink in the wires help in those cases.
Paul-H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 07:19 AM   #7
chrism1961
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
chrism1961 is on a distinguished road
Default 8 pin blank plate

Hi guys
Donít know if anyone can help...Iím after a bachmann 8 pin blank plug please,
Anyone know who has one or a pack for sale..they like rocking horse poo
chrism1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 08:08 AM   #8
RAFHAAA96
Trying-hard-to-re Member
 
RAFHAAA96's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Moni, Limassol, Cyprus
Posts: 332
RAFHAAA96 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrism1961 View Post
Hi guys
Donít know if anyone can help...Iím after a bachmann 8 pin blank plug please,
Anyone know who has one or a pack for sale..they like rocking horse poo
Make your own from an old decoder plug. You only need to link opposing corner pins in an L shape.

https://goo.gl/images/DyVq7J
Rob
__________________
Halton Brat, running Hornby 00 via Elite, Select Walkabout and eLink DCC using Railmaster Pro and occasionally Rocrail, β-tester. http://myweb.cytanet.com.cy/honnor/
RAFHAAA96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 08:34 AM   #9
Paul-H
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 52
Paul-H is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrism1961 View Post
Hi guys
Donít know if anyone can help...Iím after a bachmann 8 pin blank plug please,
Anyone know who has one or a pack for sale..they like rocking horse poo
PM me your address and I will drop you a couple in the post

Paul
Paul-H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 04:15 PM   #10
chrism1961
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
chrism1961 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you Paul you are a gent
chrism1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.