Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Location location location

Location location location Where can I keep my model railway?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2017, 12:56 PM   #61
Steve M
Monkey Puzzler
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,360
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTed View Post
So expansion slots...

Is that just a case of not joining 2 pieces of track tightly together, but leaving a little gap between them once they're both in the fishplate?
Yes. Best way to achieve this is to use a thin piece of plasticard to hold the rails apart then slip it out to leave an even gap of up to 1mm.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.

Last edited by Steve M; 05-04-2017 at 02:20 PM.
Steve M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 02:11 PM   #62
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,415
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, you can leave a small gap between the rails, approximately the thickness of a postcard.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2017, 08:39 PM   #63
Mountain Goat
Senior Member
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 1,537
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Actually I have a slight concern regarding my current little layout as my track leaves little room for expansion. Has anyone made track with rails soldered to copper PCB type (Or similar) sleepers as the rails are not able to expand like plastic sleepers allow.
It will probably work fine as is only a small layout.
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2017, 09:09 PM   #64
Tinker
Motive Power Supervisor
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: N W Norfolk
Posts: 2,153
Tinker is on a distinguished road
Default

MG you could pre-stress the rails,use a house hold iron rest it on the rails with it on a medium heat, once the rails are hot pin them down with no gaps, once the cool they will get there own gap but won't be able to expand to buckle the track, this is how the real thing is/was done.....
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2017, 10:57 PM   #65
Mountain Goat
Senior Member
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 1,537
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

In a way the soldering iron did that! Good idea though. Future rails I could do this. I think if I have issues I can get the cutting disc out and slice a slot in the rails, then brace it with mimic fishplates.
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.