Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Social & Other Chat > General Chat

General Chat Chat here with other members.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-04-2017, 05:30 PM   #501
mijj
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 144
mijj is on a distinguished road
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkingthedog View Post
I'd like an incline but just don't have space. By the time it had gone up it would have to come down again. Did consider having a separate high level branch line but in the end just couldn't be bothered.
I have been reading (and learning from) the mail. I will need an incline. How much length will I need to climb, assuming the height of a main road or water feature, and to come down again? My layout is OO gauge.
Jim
mijj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2017, 06:01 PM   #502
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 7,488
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

The minimum for OO is 60mm taken from lower level rail top to underside of anything above. Note this is the minimum and measurements are taken from lower rail top, not baseboard.
For a structure gauge see ... Link to OO structure gauge

Assuming you're running an assortment of loco all pulling a rake of 4 or more carriages or 10 plus wagons, then the norm for OO is a slope of no greater than 1 in 30. That's for every 1 unit of height you need 30 units in length, so for every 1 inch of rise aim for 30 inches in length or 1cm of height 30cm of length etc. A 1 in 40 is even better or if room permits even greater!
Any curve included in the rise will add additional drag to the loco more than when a straight rise of track is used. Note: you can go steeper, but only if all your locos are suitable and this may lead to some models overheating their motor or slipping on the incline.
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2017, 06:54 PM   #503
Teedoubleudee
Senior Member
 
Teedoubleudee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Downham Market
Posts: 2,659
Teedoubleudee is on a distinguished road
Default

It seems strange that none of the "old school" contributors has mentioned THIS product yet.

It can be seen in action HERE
__________________
If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong
Teedoubleudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2017, 07:08 PM   #504
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 7,488
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

I know all about Powerbase. But it does mean fitting metal sections under the rising track and then gluing magnets to each locos underside.
Too much cost and effort IMO. But it does work.
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2017, 07:32 PM   #505
Teedoubleudee
Senior Member
 
Teedoubleudee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Downham Market
Posts: 2,659
Teedoubleudee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flashbang View Post
I know all about Powerbase. But it does mean fitting metal sections under the rising track and then gluing magnets to each locos underside.
Too much cost and effort IMO. But it does work.
That just proves my point in post #499 Brian. You say you know about it but in your own opinion it's not worth the cost and effort. But someone desperate to squeeze in an incline onto his/her layout and is prepared to spend the money and effort is denied the knowledge that such products exist. If we genuinely want to help people, especially those new to the hobby we should equip them with ALL the facts and let them decide.
__________________
If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong

Last edited by Teedoubleudee; 23-04-2017 at 07:51 PM. Reason: spelling error corrected
Teedoubleudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2017, 08:05 PM   #506
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 7,488
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Glad you raised it Terry. Without such input the topics would be one persons views.
PowerBase is one means to overcoming steep inclines.
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2017, 08:16 PM   #507
Bulleidboy
Senior Member
 
Bulleidboy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Posts: 1,554
Bulleidboy is on a distinguished road
Default

This Youtube clip shows the use of the DCC Concepts Incline Magnets
__________________
Since light travels faster than sound, some people appear bright until you hear them speak.
Bulleidboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2017, 08:53 PM   #508
Walkingthedog
Wine and food tester.
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 7,546
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Never crossed my mind. I have seen it and it is pretty expensive. One problem with it is the magnets under the locos. They can cause havoc if you use reed switches anywhere on your layout. Still I suppose if you really want or have to have an incline in a small space, go for it.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2017, 12:34 PM   #509
RAFHAAA96
Trying-hard-to-re Member
 
RAFHAAA96's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Moni, Limassol, Cyprus
Posts: 156
RAFHAAA96 is on a distinguished road
Default

A very important thing about inclines apart from the actual gradient is the transitions at top and bottom. These need to be as smooth as possible, else you risk lifting wheels off track and possible stalling or derailments.

Obviously the less distance you have to work with the harder it is to transition effectively.

You may also like to look at the polystyrene ready made slopes, which are available in various degrees of slope and have the necessary gradual transition.
__________________
Halton Brat, running Hornby 00 via Elite, Select Walkabout and eLink DCC using Railmaster Pro and occasionally Rocrail, β-tester.
RAFHAAA96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.