Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > General Modelling

General Modelling Use this area for modelling items that don't fit elsewhere


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-04-2018, 07:02 PM   #11
Mountain Goat
Unique Member.
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,173
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Depends on the DC set up. If one avoids DC feedback controllers and avoids electronic track cleaners one will be OK (As long as the DCC decoder is programmed to accept DC. Most of them will be).
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2018, 08:38 PM   #12
Teedoubleudee
Senior Member
 
Teedoubleudee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Downham Market
Posts: 3,040
Teedoubleudee is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm amazed at the number of replies that say "should work", "most of them will work" etc.

What if it doesn't!!! Are you willing to just put a newly acquired loco of yours on the track, switch on and hope for the best? Is that really good advice?

I am making the assumption here that the OP does not have easy access to a DCC controller to check CVs or reset a decoder. If he doesn't want it my advice is to remove it and be certain. A blanking plug is an option IF a socket is fitted, but adds additional cost to the purchase.
__________________
If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong
Teedoubleudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2018, 08:42 PM   #13
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 9,904
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Well we can’t say it will work because that would be false info. It should work is fair advice.

As already stated it may come with a blanking plate in the accessories, all of my Bachmann locos have.

Put it on the track and there is a very good chance it will work. If not simply change the decoder for a blanking plate. No point in buying a blanking plate if it doesn’t need one. Job done. The decoder can then be sold to somebody.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!

Last edited by Walkingthedog; 20-04-2018 at 08:46 PM.
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2018, 09:24 PM   #14
Teedoubleudee
Senior Member
 
Teedoubleudee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Downham Market
Posts: 3,040
Teedoubleudee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkingthedog View Post
.......It should work is fair advice........
Could not agree less.

Here is the deal. Should the OP win the loco he/she can send it to me prior to putting anywhere near his/her track. I will test it under DCC conditions that it runs OK and then either reset it and check its set for DC running OR unconvert it back to DC and send it back to him with the decoder after testing again on DC.

Why take chances......
__________________
If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong
Teedoubleudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2018, 09:27 PM   #15
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 9,904
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Fair enough or he could just put it on his track and run it. If it doesn’t work, plug in the blanking plate. Cuts out the middle man and saves postage.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2018, 09:30 PM   #16
brian1951
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: at home or Lucerne
Posts: 4,342
brian1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

What is all the fuss about, the OP states the loco is fitted with a 21 pin decoder, all he has to do is fit a blanking plate, it will not need any alterations what so ever. If and when he needs a blanking plate i will give him one. Why people have to complicate such a simple thing, amazes me.
brian1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2018, 09:32 PM   #17
Teedoubleudee
Senior Member
 
Teedoubleudee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Downham Market
Posts: 3,040
Teedoubleudee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian1951 View Post
What is all the fuss about, the OP states the loco is fitted with a 21 pin decoder, all he has to do is fit a blanking plate, it will not need any alterations what so ever. If and when he needs a blanking plate i will give him one. Why people have to complicate such a simple thing, amazes me.
Couldn't agree more Brian. Though it may be fitted with a 21 pin decoder doesn't mean it is fitted with a plug/socket.
__________________
If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong
Teedoubleudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2018, 09:34 PM   #18
brian1951
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: at home or Lucerne
Posts: 4,342
brian1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

I will eat my hat if it does not have a socket, time will tell if the OP wins the auction.
brian1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2018, 09:42 PM   #19
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 9,904
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

I read somewhere that the only Decoder that doesn’t like DC is the Lenz.

The Class 24 will work.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2018, 09:47 PM   #20
Teedoubleudee
Senior Member
 
Teedoubleudee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Downham Market
Posts: 3,040
Teedoubleudee is on a distinguished road
Default

The offer still stands Southernfan. Just PM me if you want to.

Last post on this thread, I'm done with all this guesswork.
__________________
If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong
Teedoubleudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.