Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Members layouts

Members layouts Dedicated area to show the community your model railway projects


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-08-2018, 06:06 PM   #161
andy757
Senior Member
 
andy757's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincolnshire countryside.
Posts: 767
andy757 is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm using electrofrog points throughout for the first time and I see there is a silver wire attached to the point. This may sound daft, but what do I need to connect that to ?
andy757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2018, 06:36 PM   #162
Steve M
Carcharodon carcharias
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 4,143
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

That wire is to be used if you have a switch to change polarity of the frog rather than just relying on the point blades to transmit power.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2018, 07:57 PM   #163
andy757
Senior Member
 
andy757's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincolnshire countryside.
Posts: 767
andy757 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you Steve. I believe I can ignore these wires then.

Onwards and upwards...
andy757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2018, 08:15 PM   #164
Bulleidboy
Senior Member
 
Bulleidboy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Posts: 2,193
Bulleidboy is on a distinguished road
Default

If your using electrofrog points I would say these wires are essential for smooth running - have I missed something here?BB
__________________
Diplomacy is the art of telling people to go to hell in such a way that they ask for directions.
Bulleidboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2018, 08:18 PM   #165
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,432
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

I use electrofrog points and none had any wire and have smooth running or is it only for DCC.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2018, 08:22 PM   #166
andy757
Senior Member
 
andy757's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincolnshire countryside.
Posts: 767
andy757 is on a distinguished road
Default

My layout is DCC.
andy757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2018, 08:32 PM   #167
Steve M
Carcharodon carcharias
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 4,143
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

It’s not just a Dcc thing.

Electrofrogs will work perfectly well straight from the box with no modification and without touching that silver wire.

However they can be made more reliable by introducing a switch to change polarity of the frog, either manual or electronic...see this section in Brian Lambert’s guide:

http://www.brian-lambert.co.uk/Elect...age2.html#Live

Just bear in mind that if you decide to ‘improve’ them later you will have to lift the track which may cause damage.

For what it’s worth, I would do the simple mod in Brian’s guide and fit Gaugemaster autofrog modules and then you can run without having to think about frog polarit6 ever again.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2018, 08:36 PM   #168
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,432
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

I never do think about frog polarity. Set of points, two IRJ's, done.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2018, 08:46 PM   #169
andy757
Senior Member
 
andy757's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincolnshire countryside.
Posts: 767
andy757 is on a distinguished road
Default

Think as the points are all new, I'll leave them unmodified.

Thanks for the tips.
andy757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2018, 08:51 PM   #170
Bulleidboy
Senior Member
 
Bulleidboy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Posts: 2,193
Bulleidboy is on a distinguished road
Default

I think that if there is a built-in modification that could make a slight improvement, and not need me to worry about it later, I would make that modification during installation. The DCC Cobalt iP point motors have a terminal where the "silver" wire just pushes in. On the Peco point motors I just added the switch, and wired it all up before installation. It's just down to choice - and I suppose cost. BB
__________________
Diplomacy is the art of telling people to go to hell in such a way that they ask for directions.
Bulleidboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.