Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2018, 06:15 PM   #1
mijj
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 588
mijj is on a distinguished road
Default Drop wire connections to bus not under the base boards

I am realizing that I do not want to be under the base boards fiddling with a soldering iron. I intend bringing all drop wires out to the edge of the base boards (next to where I sit) to connect to the bus.
Has anyone done this neatly'ish?
I have already completed the base boards so a separate top is out of the question.
Jim.
mijj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 06:32 PM   #2
brian1951
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: at home or Lucerne
Posts: 4,359
brian1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

You can do it, and use some plastic wire ducking to make it look nice and neat.
brian1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 06:32 PM   #3
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,075
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Jim. my layout, DCC is on the first tier, above DC. I fitted my bus wires, one blue, one grey, round the outside, clipped to baseboard battens. Then, stripped wires, and soldered all droppers to them, drilling tiny holes in battens to thread wires through, from inside. once all lined up, soldered them with no prob. I have made hardboard covers to hide everything, but not yet fitted, as only i see the wires, and can live with result. john
yelrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 06:35 PM   #4
Tinker
Motive Power Supervisor
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: N W Norfolk
Posts: 2,361
Tinker is on a distinguished road
Default

How long will this make the droppers, Scotch locks (Blue) save the soldering....i have over 1000 and no problems....

This is what they look like, check the prices...
https://www.cablecraft.co.uk/blue-qu...UaAi7JEALw_wcB
Tinker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 07:17 PM   #5
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,434
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

On my layout there is a short feed from the controller to a chocolate block and the four or five feeds from the track feed back to the chocolate block.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 07:21 PM   #6
brian1951
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: at home or Lucerne
Posts: 4,359
brian1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkingthedog View Post
On my layout there is a short feed from the controller to a chocolate block and the four or five feeds from the track feed back to the chocolate block.
Will the chocolate not melt ?
brian1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 08:02 PM   #7
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,075
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I tried scotch locks, but my bus wire was a tad thick, and droppers thinner. They would not fully close. Having said that I used the ones I had,did not attempt to buy any bigger ones. Might have been better, as my copper inside bus cable is not the easiest to solder.john
yelrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 08:02 PM   #8
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,434
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Chocolate doesn’t get a chance to melt in our house Brian.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 09:14 PM   #9
mijj
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 588
mijj is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks to all the peeps that replied, there is quite a lot to digest. I can see that most aspects of this hobby is 'YMMV' sort of thing. I think I'd better go to the hobby shop tomorrow and see what he has in stock. The cable I'll be using is stuff ripped out of a house being demolished, red, blue and a copper wire. I will just remove the outer sheath and the copper.
Jim.
mijj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 06:54 AM   #10
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,075
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

jim, if you do decide to solder, before you tack cable, strip the red or the blue, in places where you are going to solder. I found it very difficult, having fixed it first to strip 1 inch outer, prior to soldering. When i did my round the room, bus, i measured and stripped these sections, first. Much easier. john
yelrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.