Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-03-2018, 11:02 AM   #1
Graham1954
Junior Member
 
Graham1954's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 20
Graham1954 is on a distinguished road
Question TTS Castle not running

Ok I'm confused. Went out into the railway shed to run the Castle loco. All was well to start then started to hesitate and came to a stop. All the sound effects are working but no motion?

Any ideas please?
__________________
GWR family
Graham1954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2018, 11:13 AM   #2
brian1951
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: at home or Lucerne
Posts: 4,387
brian1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

Firstly the old advice of clean track and wheels, then reset the decoder.
brian1951 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2018, 11:19 AM   #3
Graham1954
Junior Member
 
Graham1954's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 20
Graham1954 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Brian. I cleaned the track before running but will give it another rub over and reset the decoder and see what happens.
__________________
GWR family
Graham1954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2018, 05:45 PM   #4
centenary
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 34
centenary is on a distinguished road
Default

Also are your track connecting wires secure in the controller and to the track?
centenary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2018, 06:02 PM   #5
dtb
9C Macclesfield
 
dtb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Peak District
Posts: 290
dtb is on a distinguished road
Default

reset the decoder and program on the main, it's noted that TTS loco's need a little more power that the main track can give when programming.

Has there been any electrical shorts on the track?

I had an issue the other week when a sandpipe kept catching on the points and shorting the loco out. Had to do a reset then as the decoder wasn't performing properly.
__________________
dtb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2018, 09:28 AM   #6
Graham1954
Junior Member
 
Graham1954's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 20
Graham1954 is on a distinguished road
Smile

Thanks all for the replies. I spent a couple of hours checking all the connections then took the decoder out of the loco and re-installed.

Programmed on the main and all seems to be working now.

Thanks again
__________________
GWR family
Graham1954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2018, 06:09 PM   #7
Nokonium
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: St Clears, Carmarthenshire
Posts: 54
Blog Entries: 1
Nokonium is on a distinguished road
Default

I have an Earl Of St Germans' Castle Class with TTS, beautiful loco. Bought it partly because we (me and missus) have stayed in the slip coach 'Mevy' that Railholiday have next to the station there.
Nokonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2018, 06:58 PM   #8
centenary
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 34
centenary is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nokonium View Post
I have an Earl Of St Germans' Castle Class with TTS, beautiful loco. Bought it partly because we (me and missus) have stayed in the slip coach 'Mevy' that Railholiday have next to the station there.
We have the Earl too. As you say, a lovely loco.
centenary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.