Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-04-2018, 06:03 PM   #1
oncomin5torm
Senior Member
 
oncomin5torm's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Little Neston
Posts: 254
oncomin5torm is on a distinguished road
Default Gaugemaster PM-2 Wiring

I am about to go into a period of point motor wiring.

I have never done this before and as such I'm just after a little clarification.



As per the above instructions and knowing that the PM-2 does not have a switch in it for the accessorys and frog switching, does that mean I only need to wire up connections A, B, C?

From what I can gather that is all.
A goes to one of the poles on the SPDT switch, C goes to the CDU and B goes to the other pole on the SPDT switch.

Thanks in advance
Alex
__________________
Don't try to be a great man, just be a man.
Let history make it's own judgments.
oncomin5torm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2018, 06:41 PM   #2
Pompeydave
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: South Benfleet,Essex
Posts: 25
Pompeydave is on a distinguished road
Default

You have already correctly sorted it.
A is connected to one side of the switch, B to the other side. C is connected to your 16v power source and CDU. The central terminal of your switch also connects to your power source. Hope this helps.
.
Pompeydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2018, 06:46 PM   #3
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator ;-)
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,548
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, that's all that will be needed plus, of course, a wire from the centre terminal of the switch (the common connection) goes back to the other terminal of the CDU and can be connected to all the other switches common terminals so that you only have one wire running back to the CDU instead of a wire from every switch.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2018, 07:32 PM   #4
oncomin5torm
Senior Member
 
oncomin5torm's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Little Neston
Posts: 254
oncomin5torm is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks guys, It's a job for a day off I think, so it will be on hold until thursday, I'll keep chipping away at my ballasting during the week.

This evenings build is my laser cut wooden station building.
__________________
Don't try to be a great man, just be a man.
Let history make it's own judgments.
oncomin5torm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 08:06 PM   #5
oncomin5torm
Senior Member
 
oncomin5torm's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Little Neston
Posts: 254
oncomin5torm is on a distinguished road
Default

I've done my first point wiring.

It is just to terminal blocks at the moment as I do not know how far away they will all sit from the mimic board.



I have tested it and it works so well I cannot wait to get it installed.
I saw a nice little idea on another forum about using velcro instead of screws so any miss alignment is easy to rectify and if ever removed its easy to stick back on instead of screws.



As I only have 1 controller at the moment and will eventully be on a larger layout and not just using this small shunting one, I do not want to have too many controllers as they arent exactly cheap.
Is there a way I can attatch a type of plug or socket to the wires coming from my Gaugemaster Combi to plug into wires with the female version of said plug so I can remove my controller when I am not using this layout?
__________________
Don't try to be a great man, just be a man.
Let history make it's own judgments.

Last edited by oncomin5torm; 06-05-2018 at 08:15 PM.
oncomin5torm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 08:11 PM   #6
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,046
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

I would strongly suggest screws. The motor need to be held firmly and with Velcro the whole motor is likely to move.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 10:19 PM   #7
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,274
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Velcro, Never! Temporarily fix the Seep drive pin centrally between the two coils and also temporarily fix the point blades mid way. Ensure Seep is exactly in line with the points moving tie bar and secure in place with small wood screws and don't over tighten them.

You need to shorten the three wires that you've soldered. The long pieces of bare wire run a risk of touching the adjacent ones and prevent the motor working by causing a short circuit!
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 11:31 PM   #8
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,887
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

The Velcro suggestion should stay where you found it - on another forum. Seeps are good motors when fitted firm and square - just being out by a millimetre can compromise their operation.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 06:54 AM   #9
oncomin5torm
Senior Member
 
oncomin5torm's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Little Neston
Posts: 254
oncomin5torm is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flashbang View Post
Velcro, Never! Temporarily fix the Seep drive pin centrally between the two coils and also temporarily fix the point blades mid way. Ensure Seep is exactly in line with the points moving tie bar and secure in place with small wood screws and don't over tighten them.

You need to shorten the three wires that you've soldered. The long pieces of bare wire run a risk of touching the adjacent ones and prevent the motor working by causing a short circuit!
Ok I get the feeling the Velcro thing is a no go 😂

I'll make them shorter I just wonder why?
And I'll put some insulation tape round the bare wires.
I'm not up to the confidence of heat shrink yet plus I don't have any.
__________________
Don't try to be a great man, just be a man.
Let history make it's own judgments.
oncomin5torm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 08:40 AM   #10
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,046
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

FB meant make the uninsulated wires shorter. If they get bent, which they may well do, they will touch and cause problems.

Heat shrink is easier than tape. Get some that just fits over the wire, Slide it over and warm it with a hair dryer, think that will work, or hold a hot soldering iron near it.

You can get a pack of varying sizes fairly cheaply.

An example : https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/260Pc-Car...sAAOSw7bdanR2G
__________________
NURSE,the screens!

Last edited by Walkingthedog; 07-05-2018 at 08:42 AM.
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.