Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2015, 08:40 PM   #1
cal646
Member
 

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 73
cal646 is on a distinguished road
Default laisdcc decoders

does any body have these decoders fitted to their locos? they are a tenner on ebay so i thought id give them a go i cant afford the silly priced sound decoders so cheap and chearful it is!
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1515928330...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
cal646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 09:45 PM   #2
Teedoubleudee
Senior Member
 
Teedoubleudee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Downham Market
Posts: 2,818
Teedoubleudee is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm not aware of these particular decoders but if you are on a tight budget I can recommend the ones Hattons sell under their own name. They start at 10 complete with 8 pin harness with 4 functions. I've fitted 5 of these on my own locos and they work very well.
Teedoubleudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 09:52 PM   #3
Cudworth
Senior Member
 
Cudworth's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 619
Cudworth is on a distinguished road
Default

Things you order from China often take a long time to arrive, but are good value if you don't mind the wait. Hornby R8249 can sometimes be had from ebay at this price.
Cudworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 11:51 PM   #4
alfaz-di-pi
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coventry
Posts: 3,978
alfaz-di-pi is on a distinguished road
Default

I found that the cheap hornby had no protective cover on it and a few of the wires came loose. I notice that the lais decoder is only .75 amp continous running, which may be a little low for old locos, but probably Ok for newer ones.
Albert.
alfaz-di-pi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 10:38 PM   #5
cal646
Member
 

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 73
cal646 is on a distinguished road
Default

its built in far east but stocked here in uk arrived this morning i ordered tuesday and i suppose il be test monkey for these decoders then, first opinion it looks ok its heat shrink wrapped so cant see the board,the soldering on the 8 pin seems nice and solid with the cables. the 2 extra cables im not too sure about i think they are function wires not too sure yet im about to fit one too my bachmann class 66 opps no im not that has a 21pin so i guess my flying scotsman is about to have a transplant we shall see what happens
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 014.jpg (267.1 KB, 27 views)
cal646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 10:44 PM   #6
RogerB
Moderator
 
RogerB's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,437
RogerB is on a distinguished road
Default

Where there any instructions or CV programming notes with them? R-
__________________
I'm not sure if I have loads of free time - or I've just forgotten to do something really important?
OO Gauge : Train Controller Gold with Elite/CTI : 13 Locomotives
RogerB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 10:55 PM   #7
cal646
Member
 

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 73
cal646 is on a distinguished road
Default

yes there is a web page with wiring and cv notes www.widgetshed.co.uk it only shows the harness wiring not the two other wires ive fired off an email to get comformation on what they are, i was hoping a stay alive capasitor can be fitted but we shall see .
cal646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 11:03 PM   #8
RogerB
Moderator
 
RogerB's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,437
RogerB is on a distinguished road
Default

Difficult as both the "extra" wires seem to be the same colour as each other. Interesting to find out how you get on. R-
__________________
I'm not sure if I have loads of free time - or I've just forgotten to do something really important?
OO Gauge : Train Controller Gold with Elite/CTI : 13 Locomotives
RogerB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 11:26 PM   #9
cal646
Member
 

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 73
cal646 is on a distinguished road
Default

one is blue the other black which is why i first thought a function wire then stay alive
cal646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 08:54 AM   #10
Teedoubleudee
Senior Member
 
Teedoubleudee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Downham Market
Posts: 2,818
Teedoubleudee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cal646 View Post
one is blue the other black which is why i first thought a function wire then stay alive
I'm no expert on stay-alives, but I seem to remember reading sonewhere that the 2 wires for the capacitor are on the output of the decoder's bridge rectifier. If correct, you should get a measurement, probably 12 dc, across them when power applied. This would also tell you which way round the cap. Should go. Please let us know your findings as this is a very good price for a stay alive decoder.
Teedoubleudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.