JMRI Model Railroad Interface

Nokonium
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: St Clears
Contact:

JMRI Model Railroad Interface

#1

Post by Nokonium » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:05 pm

I have recently, OK today, OK 10 minutes ago, become aware of this and how it can be used to run a layout and allow via WiThrottle the ability to use iPads as DCC controllers.

Anyone use JMRI or JMRI and either an android or IOS devise to control loco's?

Paul-H
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:37 pm
Location: Kent
Contact:

Re: JMRI Model Railroad Interface

#2

Post by Paul-H » Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:17 pm

I only use the DecoderPro section for programming my locos, I cant make head nor tail of its interface for running a layout and I have been a computer user since the mid 80's

User avatar
RogerB
Site Admin
Posts: 1255
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:17 pm
Location: Dorset
Contact:

Re: JMRI Model Railroad Interface

#3

Post by RogerB » Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:32 pm

Same here. However RAF96 has experience of using it - and I am sure will be along shortly. R-
All pets are therapy pets. Most are just working under cover.

Ron S
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:48 pm
Location: South Australia
Contact:

Re: JMRI Model Railroad Interface

#4

Post by Ron S » Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:30 pm

There is a forum dedicated to JMRI covers Decoder-pro o & all of its extras.

https://groups.io/g/jmriusers
Ron

NCE DCC, 00 scale, very loosely based on GWR

Nokonium
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: St Clears
Contact:

Re: JMRI Model Railroad Interface

#5

Post by Nokonium » Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:07 pm

OK this is where I’m coming from. I have a Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance 2 and wanted to as you may say expand control. Gaugemaster wireless controller circa £200, Gaugemaster WiFi module circa £100. Have a W7 desktop that can be relocated and 3 iPads between us, one each and an old one that we use to play music on the Sonos in the train shed. JMRI is open source, WiThrottle is free and the pro is circa £10.

So what is best value?

I have IT experience but from way back when XP was king, having been part of a team developing open source software.

Feeling a bit like a fish in a tree now and would like to know what users have experienced, found to be good or found to need further development.

Paul-H
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:37 pm
Location: Kent
Contact:

Re: JMRI Model Railroad Interface

#6

Post by Paul-H » Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:36 pm

If you have experience with open source software you might be able to get to grips with it but like most modern open source software it has grown into a monster, good luck.

Perhaps once you have figured it out you could write a basic guide for those of us less fortunate in understanding theses things ;)

Nokonium
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: St Clears
Contact:

Re: JMRI Model Railroad Interface

#7

Post by Nokonium » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:28 pm

Paul-H wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:36 pm
If you have experience with open source software you might be able to get to grips with it but like most modern open source software it has grown into a monster, good luck.

Perhaps once you have figured it out you could write a basic guide for those of us less fortunate in understanding theses things ;)
Having worked with open source software, alpha and beta testing, I am very aware that it can either be very good or in serious need of debugging, or somewhere in between. But my experience was 10 years ago and in IT terms that is a very long time ago. Just trying to get an idea if it is an avenue worth exploring.

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:33 am
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Contact:

Re: JMRI Model Railroad Interface

#8

Post by RAF96 » Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:39 pm

Rog, I am the same as Paul-H, I use Decoder pro but can’t make head nor tail of the rest of JMRI. Not keen on Yahoo groups either.
I prefer Rocrail but normally use Railmaster.
Rob

User avatar
Mr Bones
Posts: 488
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:24 pm
Location: Canterbury Area
Contact:

Re: JMRI Model Railroad Interface

#9

Post by Mr Bones » Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:04 pm

Like some of the others I have used the Decoder Pro and have dabbled with the Throttles. Can't say I find it a particularly nice user interface (very basic and crude), but then you get what you pay for - nothing - just time and effort to configure it.

For computer control I've also looked at iTrain which I quite like. You can trial it for free, limited to three loco's which is what I'm using.
And the Lord said unto John “Come forth and receive eternal life”, but John came fifth and won a toaster!

Nokonium
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: St Clears
Contact:

Re: JMRI Model Railroad Interface

#10

Post by Nokonium » Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:01 am

Interesting reading on the computer control of layouts but I'm not really looking for that at the moment, really all I want at the moment is an inexpensive way to get wireless controllers.

The bit that some of you have found useful I don't really need as I can program locos on a programming track linked to my Prodigy Advance 2.

Looks like something that I'll leave alone for now at least.

Thanks anyway.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests