Railway signals

Help with layout scenics
SOOTYBRUM
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:48 pm
Contact:

Railway signals

#1

Post by SOOTYBRUM »

Modelling a Scottish highlands scene (N-Gauge) from the 1970s and I need to put railway signals (non-electric) onto the layout. Have read a lot about the different types of signals but am confused. Is there a simple listing of the types used in the 70s. I have 2 stations and a number of junctions. I've seen the Peco kits but not sure which ones I need.
What is Home and what is Distant vis a vis signals?
Brgds
User avatar
darkscot
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Railway signals

#2

Post by darkscot »

I found a very useful guide online recently:
http://www.railway-technical.com/signal ... --what.pdf
Many times the wrong train took me to the right place.
User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 3442
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: Railway signals

#3

Post by Walkingthedog »

You’ve got a lot to learn. I hardly have a clue and have been playing trains for over 60 years. :D
Nurse, the screens!
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1512
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Railway signals

#4

Post by Brian »

Cant help with what was used in Scotland in the 1970s ??? Semaphore possibly or colour light signalling depending on line and if/or when it was upgraded.

A Distant signal can be passed by a train regardless of its position or aspect displayed. When "On"- Semaphore = Yellow fishtail with a black chevron the Semaphore signals arm is horizontal or if a Colour light at a yellow aspect the driver is warned that the section ahead is not clear and to slow and be prepared to Stop at the next signal. When the Distant is "Off" - Semaphore arm raised (or lowered) or a colour light is at Green then the driver is advised the section ahead is all clear and the train can proceed without having to slow or be prepared to stop.

Home is stop semaphore signal with a red arm and white vertical stripe. When horizontal the driver has to stop on the approach side of the signal. If raised (or lowered) the driver can pass the signal and depending on what the Distant was at, the driver needs to be prepared to stop at next signal or they know the section ahead is all set to proceed (Clear).

There is a very simple set of drawings on my web site that may help further?... https://www.brian-lambert.co.uk/Hints-& ... erminoligy
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
User avatar
darkscot
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Railway signals

#5

Post by darkscot »

One type of signals that I think are unique to Scotland is 'Anderson's Piano' on the Pass of Brander. I think the used to have something similar on the Loch Earn line when it was open?

http://www.railsigns.uk/info/stonesig1/stonesig1.html
Many times the wrong train took me to the right place.
User avatar
Forfarian
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:54 pm
Location: Angus
Contact:

Re: Railway signals

#6

Post by Forfarian »

Have a look at the Strathspey or Dufftown heritage lines i'm sure there must be some still in use there.
Forfarian aka Tim
Of course I talk to myself, I sometimes need expert advice!
IanAlan
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:55 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Railway signals

#7

Post by IanAlan »

Brian's link is very informative. He also mentions telegraph poles in the article, and I've been wondering what happened to all those poles and wires when telegraph became obsolete. Were they converted into telephone or were they removed? If they were converted, did they have some of their arms removed? I notice that telephone poles in the street don't have arms. What I would like to find out is this, should I remove my telegraph poles when I've got more modern locomotives running on my layout? Many thanks, Ian Alan. PS Sorry SootyBrum, that I've hijacked your thread.
User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 3442
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: Railway signals

#8

Post by Walkingthedog »

Telegraph poles only needed arms when open wire was used, by that I mean uninsulated copper wire, to keep the wires apart. This was replaced by cables hung between the poles. Eventually this was replaced by cables in ducts under the ground. Obviously some times cables couldn’t be buried so remained in the air. Poles were then and still are mainly only used as DP's, distribution poles, feeding wires to buildings.

Hollow fibreglass poles are sometimes used as DP's where it is deemed dangerous to climb them using a ladder, e.g over a spiked fence or on the edge of a deep drop.

I climbed quite a few poles in another life.

I have a couple of sheds that stand on arms laid on the ground. Been there for years and not rotten.
Nurse, the screens!
User avatar
darkscot
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Railway signals

#9

Post by darkscot »

IanAlan wrote: Sun Mar 14, 2021 10:31 pm and I've been wondering what happened to all those poles and wires when telegraph became obsolete.
I was a boy when the telephone poles in our village were removed and the lines put underground. I think the GPO kept the cable, but the poles were given to whosever land they were on to do with as they wished. Our village was part of a large country estate and a lot of the poles were cut up for kindling. but I know at least some where used to build a footbridge over a stream.
Many times the wrong train took me to the right place.
User avatar
teedoubleudee
Posts: 874
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:53 pm
Location: Downham Market
Contact:

Re: Railway signals

#10

Post by teedoubleudee »

As a slight digression, I am amazed that in my locality of a medium sized town (rapidly becomimg a large sized town!) not only are telephone poles still in abundance but BT continue to replace them (with new poles) and are actually installing new ones! This in a completely built up area. I can't complain about the service which currently gives me 70+ Mbbs FTC broad band but that last piece of wire from the pole to my house hangs so low that neighbours trees will soon be interfering with it. Engineers are constantly working in the area either up poles, down holes or heads stuck in the cabinets. I fear the whole lot will fail dramatically one day and we will lose our land lines completely.
Most people are shocked when they find out how bad I am as an electrician
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests