Point motor switches

paul1066
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Point motor switches

#21

Post by paul1066 » Wed Feb 20, 2019 4:31 pm

I used a points position indicator for my panel - had no clue what one was or how to fit it so just watched the video below and all became clear - just made up my own panel with switches and lights and just so my simple brain could comprehend what was going on I used green lights for points set for main road and red lights for when points switched out (or off or whatever the terminology is)

https://youtu.be/gXXORgfXEt0


Image

User avatar
teedoubleudee
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:53 pm
Location: Downham Market
Contact:

Re: Point motor switches

#22

Post by teedoubleudee » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:48 pm

paul1066 wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 4:31 pm
I used a points position indicator for my panel - had no clue what one was or how to fit it so just watched the video below and all became clear - just made up my own panel with switches and lights and just so my simple brain could comprehend what was going on I used green lights for points set for main road and red lights for when points switched out (or off or whatever the terminology is)

https://youtu.be/gXXORgfXEt0


Image
Unfortunately this device still only provides a memory of the last switch request from the toggle switch. It doesnt address the issue of actual point blade position as mentioned earlier in post #7
Most people are shocked when they find out how bad I am as an electrician

samesame
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Point motor switches

#23

Post by samesame » Tue Feb 26, 2019 7:43 pm

Just thought I would post a picture of my completed panel which was realised with all your help. The red switches are power blocks CAB wired to the two controllers. The blue switches are points and indicate the set of the points which is what I was after.

Once again thanks for the help


Image

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 608
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Point motor switches

#24

Post by Brian » Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:16 pm

Hi
Well done for making the panel.
I think you need to reconsider the train controllers shown! That Hornby controller is at best poor!
Look at the excellent Gaugemaster range or the Morley controller, these both will out perform those Hornby units ten fold! :o
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

station master
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:07 am
Contact:

Re: Point motor switches

#25

Post by station master » Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:59 am

Would it be possible to power my cdu and switches using the DC transformer below? or I have an old Duet transformer?

Image

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 608
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Point motor switches

#26

Post by Brian » Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:14 pm

Hi

If the train controller has a 16 volt AC output then feed the CDU input from that pair of terminals.
I wouldn't use the DC outputs as generally they are too low a voltage and of course the 'Track' output has reversible polarity depending on which way the speed knob is turned.

Before using it check the mains cable is not damaged anywhere, especially where it enters the controller and also if you're in the UK that the plug fuse is 3Amp. Check also the wires are correctly fitted in the plug and the grub screws are tight on all the pin/wires and the cord grip is working. I suspect on an old controller like that it will have red and black wires, the red must go to the fuse side and the black to the lower left pin when looking inside of the plug, if it has a green wire this is the earth and needs to connect to the plugs top middle larger pin.

If any of the above are incorrect do not use the controller until its been checked by a qualified electrician.
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

station master
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:07 am
Contact:

Re: Point motor switches

#27

Post by station master » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:31 pm

Hi Brian

I have had the controller since new so I know it is all good, just used the picture attached to show the type of controller, thanks for you advice, I also have a Duet would that work?

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 608
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Point motor switches

#28

Post by Brian » Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:28 pm

Hi
Yes, again use the 16volt AC output (on the side of the Duet) will be fine as the input supply to a CDU.
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest